Mourning becomes electra

9780224610711 MOBEC

Set in New England just after the end of the Civil War, Mourning Becomes Electra is O'Neill's three part reworking of themes from Greek tragedy. This adaptation of Aeschylus' Oresteia by one of America's greatest playwrights is a landmark in the history of theatre.

More details


3 400 XPF

Shiping cost

Data sheet

Support Livre neuf
Auteur Eugène O'Neill
Éditeur Random House New Zealand
Genre Livres en anglais
Tags Eugene O'Neill
Format Format 13 x 20 cm, broché, 288 pages
EAN 13 9780224610711

More info

Mourning Becomes Electra is a play written by the American playwright Eugene O'Neill. It premiered on Broadway in 1931 and ran for 150 performances. The story is an updated Greek tragedy and features murder, adultery, incestuous love and revenge. O'Neill's characters have motivations that are influenced by the psychological theories of the 1930s. Hence, it can be understood from a Freudian perspective, with characters displaying Oedipus and Electra complexes. Mourning Becomes Electra is divided into three plays entitled Homecoming, The Hunted, and The Haunted, with themes corresponding to The Oresteia trilogy by Aeschylus. These plays are normally shown together and, as they each have four or five acts, it is extraordinarily lengthy, often being cut down when produced.